Meet our team

Our interdisciplinary consortium includes partners from universities, universities of applied sciences, research/knowledge institutes, farmers, consumers, and companies.

Main applicant

Dr. S.E. Hannula

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Environmental Sciences (CML)
  • Assistant Professor
  • Soil ecology, Soil microbiomes
  • s.e.hannula@cml.leidenuniv.nl

Co-applicant(s)

Dr. P.W.J. Maljaars (MD, PhD)

  • Gastroenterologist (LUMC)
  • P.W.J.Maljaars@lumc.nl

Dr. M. Tushuizen (MD, PhD)

  • Gastroenterologist (LUMC)
  • M.E.Tushuizen@lumc.nl

Prof.dr. T.M. Bezemer

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Biology (IBL)
  • Professor
  • Microbiomes, soil transplantation, plant-soil interactions
  • t.m.bezemer@biology.leidenuniv.nl

Dr. D.E. Rozen

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Biology (IBL)
  • Associate professor
  • Microbial ecology, microbiomes, plant-microbe interactions
  • d.e.rozen@biology.leidenuniv.nl

Dr. Y.H. Choi

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Biology (IBL)
  • Associate professor
  • Metabolomics, Natural products, Chemistry
  • y.h.choi@biology.leidenuniv.nl

Dr. S.I. Gomes (Postdoc)

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Biology (IBL)
  • Professor
  • Microbiomes, soil transplantation, plant-soil interactions
  • t.m.bezemer@biology.leidenuniv.nl

M. Elfferich (PhD)

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Biology
  • Plant quality and plant-microbe interactions
  • m.elfferich@biology.leidenuniv.nl

Dr. G.E. Breeman

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Public Administration (PA)
  • Assistant Professor
  • Politics of attention, policy processes, governance
  • g.e.breeman@fgga.leidenuniv.nl

S.L. Hepping (PhD)

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Public Administration (PA)
  • Sensemaking
  • s.l.hepping@fgga.leidenuniv.nl

Prof.dr.ir. P.M. van Bodegom

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Environmental Sciences (CML)
  • Professor
  • Microbial ecology, soil-plant interactions, system ecology
  • p.m.van.bodegom@cml.leidenuniv.nl

Prof.dr.ing. J.W. Erisman

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Environmental Sciences (CML)
  • Professor
  • Agricultural systems, Sustainable soil management
  • j.w.erisman@cml.leidenuniv.nl

I. Siles Asaff (PhD)

  • Universiteit Leiden, Institute of Environmental Science (CML)
  • Soil Ecology, Plant-Soil Interactions
  • m.i.siles.asaff@cml.leidenuniv.nl

Prof.dr. S. El Aidy

  • University of Groningen (RUG), Faculty of Science and engineering
  • Associate professor
  • Microbiology, molecular physiology/biology
  • sahar.elaidy@rug.nl

Dr. G.F. Veen

  • Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO-KNAW)
  • Researcher
  • Soil microbiomes, soil functioning, carbon and nutrient cycling
  • C.Veen@nioo.knaw.nl

Prof.dr.ir. W.H. van der Putten

  • Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO-KNAW)
  • Professor
  • Soil biodiversity, plant-soil interactions
  • W.vanderPutten@nioo.knaw.nl

Dr. E. Elferink

  • Van Hall Larenstein University of Applied Sciences
  • Lector (professor of applied sciences)
  • Sustainable soil management
  • emiel.elferink@hvhl.nl

Dr. M. Sura-de Jong

  • Van Hall Larenstein University of Applied Sciences
  • Lector (professor of applied sciences)
  • Soil, plant, gut microbiome, sustainable food production, protein transition
  • martina.sura@hvhl.nl

P. Drost

  • Van Hall Larenstein University of Applied Sciences
  • Senior researcher
  • Agribusiness, circular economy, value chains

Prof. dr. D. Jonkers

  • Maastricht University (NUTRIM)
  • Professor
  • Gut microbiome, gut physiology
  • d.jonkers@maastrichtuniversity.nl

Prof. dr. J. Penders

  • Maastricht University (NUTRIM)
  • Associate Professor
  • Gut microbiome
  • j.penders@maastrichtuniversity.nl

Co-funder(s)

Dr. A van der Wurff

  • Normec Green Agro Control, Netherlands
  • a.vanderwurff@agrocontrol.nl

Mr. P. Oosterkamp

  • ECOstyle, BV
  • p.oosterkamp@eurostyle.nl

Mr. B. van Meurs

  • Koppert Cress/Division Q
  • b.vanmeurs@divisionq.nl

Mr. D. Zwinkels

  • Van der Knaap B.V., Netherlands
  • DirkZwinkels@vanderknaap.info
Mr. M. van Gurp
  • Healthy Soil bv
  • marco@healthy-soil.com

Mrs. P. Boorsma

  • Biosintrum
  • pboorsma@biosintrum.nl

Mr. K. Nijhof

  • Groentekwekerij De Nieuwe Ronde
  • nijhof.klaas@gmail.com

Collaborating partners

Ir. M. van Es

  • Bac2nature
  • marco.van.es@bac2nature.org

Mr. M. Franssen

  • Delphy

Mr. R. Verhoeven

  • Plant Health Cure (PHC)

Others

Fleur van de Kamp

  • Bac2nature
  • fleur@bac2nature.org

Mr. E. van der Graaff

  • Koppert Cress
  • eric.vandergraaff@koppertcress.nl

Mr. R. Baan

  • Koppert Cress
  • rob.baan@koppertcress.com

Soils2guts

A research targeted to ‘resolve tensions, develop and test solutions, overcome barriers and uncover new market opportunities’